Nagaland Legislative Speaker nominated as members of the Committee of Presiding Officers

Sharingain Longkumer

Speaker of Nagaland Legislative Assembly Sharingain Longkumer, has been nominated into the Committee of the Presiding Officers “To Review the Powers of Presiding Officers under the tenth Schedule of the Constitution and the Rules made Thereunder” by Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla.

The Committee, headed by Speaker, Rajasthan Legislative Assembly, Dr. C.P. Joshi, consists of:

  1. Dr. CP. Joshi
    Speaker, Rajasthan Legislative Assembly – Chairperson

2. Dr. Surjya Narayana Patro
Speaker, Odisha Legislative Assembly – Member

3. Vishweshwar Hedge Kageri
Speaker, Karnataka Legislative Assembly – Member

4. Sharingain Longkumer
Speaker, Nagaland Legislative Assembly – Member

A communication to this effect has been received from the Lok Sabha Secretariat on 10th June 2021. The only other representation from the North East in such a Committee of Presiding Officers is that of Speaker, Manipur Legislative Assembly, Yumnan Kemchand Singh, in the Committee of the Presiding Officers to Examine the Matter of Financial Independence of Legislature Secretariat constituted by the Speaker, Lok Sabha.

It is a well-deserved recognition for the State of Nagaland as much as for Speaker, Longkumer. With Nagaland having its own share of Petitions under the 10th Schedule, his association with this Committee will be in the larger interest of Parliamentary democracy.

You may also like...