Chief Minister second visit to Tupul Railway Construction Camp

For the second time to review the rescue operations, the Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh visited the Noney landslide site on Friday after he had visited the landslide area to assess the situation on Thursday.

On Thursday visit, he informed that an emergency meeting was held in the morning and the government has decided to provide ex-gratia of Rs. 5 lakhs to the next of kin of those deceased and Rs. 50 thousand to the injured persons. He further maintained that all the expenses including medical treatment etc of the injured persons will be borne by the State government.

Official source said that the landslide on Thursday claimed 21 lives and left several injured and 42 more missing. Briefing media persons at the spot, the chief minister termed the massive landslide as one of the worst incidents that happened in the state. As many as 81 persons were affected, of which 18 persons have been rescued so far.

The Chief Minister said that the rescue operation team includes Manipur Police personnel, NDRF, SRDF and Army personnel. On Friday eight more bodies recovered in addition to eight bodies which were recovered on Thursday.

The state government had put all efforts using possible manpower and machines to recover the missing persons. Due to the soft condition of the soil, roads to the actual area of landslide could not be restored.

The chief minister expressed the hope that all the missing persons would be found within two to three days. He told that an equipment had been brought from Ladakh by the Army which could locate where about of the dead bodies using the through wall radar system. Further expressed gratitude to Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Home Minister Amit Shah for showing much concern on the incident and providing assistance by sending NDRF personnel.

Biren lauded the rescue operation team for their tireless efforts to recover the missing persons. He was accompanied by Works Minister Govindas Konthoujam, Relief and Disaster Management Minister Awangbow Newmai; Social Welfare Minister Heikham Dingo; Transport Minister Khasim Vashum; chairman, Hill Areas Committee and MLA of Nungba assembly constituency Diganglung Gangmei, MLA of Keirao assembly constituency Lourembam Rameshwor Meetei, MLA of Tamenglong assembly constituency Janghemlung Panmei; chief secretary Dr Rajesh Kumar and other senior civil and police officials among others.

You may also like...